Workers’ Compensation

Man looking out into the horizon

Workers' Compensation is a type of insurance intended to provide wage replacement, medical bill coverage, and other benefits to employees due to occupational injuries and illnesses. It is a mandated program governed primarily by laws found in the Connecticut General Statutes. The Workers’ Compensation program for state employees is managed by the Department of Administrative Services.

The State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Program requires that an employee report a work-related injury or illness to his/her supervisor immediately.  To officially report the claim, the employee and supervisor must contact Human Resources at 860-679-1483.

Worker Status Report (DAS Form 208) This form must be completed by the physician at every visit; the employee must immediately provide a copy to his/her direct supervisor and to Human Resources, fax 860-679-4660.
Filing Status and Exemption (WCC Form1A) This Workers’ Compensation Commission form is used to record the injured worker's federal income tax filing status and number of exemptions for use in establishing the base Workers’ Compensation rate of pay.
Concurrent Employment and Third Party Liability (DAS Form PER-WC 211) This form is completed to identify if the injured worker has any employment other than the State of Connecticut for potential concurrent employment benefits and to identify any third party negligence, giving rise to the injury.
Use of Accrued Leave (Comptroller Form DAS-WC-715) This form is used to designate the use of accrued leave to supplement lost wage workers’ compensation benefits for the injured worker. NOTE: Refer to General Letter 78 on administration of this form.

Workers’ compensation also provides payment and mileage reimbursement for some medical appointments and workers' compensation hearings.

Workers’ Compensation Health and Safety Committee

The Workers’ Compensation Health and Safety Committee is comprised of equally represented staff and management members whose charge is to promote safety and health at UConn Health. Members are as follows:

Deb Abromaitis
Clinical Effectiveness/Emergency Preparedness
abromaitis@uchc.edu

Lorri Adgers
Patient Accounts
adgers@uchc.edu

Cliff Ashton
Facilities Management
cashton@uchc.edu

Lakeesha Brown
Human Resources
lbrown@uchc.edu

Jennifer Cavallari
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
cavallari@uchc.edu

Martin Cherniack
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
cherniack@uchc.edu

Dhruv Dave
Radiology
ddave@uchc.edu

Nancy Dupont
Epidemiology/Infection Control
dupont@uchc.edu

Christopher Emerton
Sodexo
cemerton@uchc.edu

Suzanne Ferreira
Emergency Department
ferreira@uchc.edu

Jennifer Garza
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
garza@uchc.edu

Gina Gates
Animal Care
ggates@uchc.edu

Donna Gleason
Dental
dgleason@uchc.edu

Ivonne Hamm
Psychiatry
ihamm@uchc.edu

Steve Jacobs
Environmental Health and Safety
jacobs@uchc.edu

Meghan Laughlan
ICU/Critical Care
laughlan@uchc.edu

Pierre LePage
UConn Medical Group
plepage@uchc.edu

Xandra Mathurin
Clinical Laboratory
mathurin@uchc.edu

Tonie Matthews
Child Care Center
tmatthews@uchc.edu

John Pozniak
Police Department
pozniak@uchc.edu

Petra Rasor
Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center
rasor@uchc.edu

Scott Rivkin
Human Resources
rivkin@uchc.edu

Kim Silverman
Rehabilitation Services
ksilverman@uchc.edu

Joseph Speich
Fire Department
speich@uchc.edu

Cathy Spisak
Operating Room
spisak@uchc.edu

Jessica Van Alstyne
Human Resources
jvanalstyne@uchc.edu

Guy Womack
Voice, Network and Mobile Device Services
womack@uchc.edu