Current and Past Trainees

Current Ph.D. Trainees (Senior to Junior) Where They Came From
Carissa Sirois Eastern Connecticut State University
University of Hartford, CT
Cory Willis University of Pittsburgh, PA
Alexandra Nicaise Trinity College, CT
Judy Bloom Eastern Connecticut State University, CT
Brittany Knight Lock Haven University, PA
Rajamani Selvam University of Arkansas, AR (MS)
Jessica Yasko Georgetown University (MS), Washington, DC
Cara Hardy Otterbein University in Westerville, OH
Noelle McKearney
Matthew Sticco Muhlenberg College, Allentown, PA
Marwa Elamin
Madeleine Youngstrom
Robert Pijewski


Graduates of the Neuroscience Program Location Upon Graduating
James Fink, Ph.D., 2018 Postdoctoral, Boston, MA
Mandakini Singh, Ph.D., 2017 Postdoctoral, UConn Health, Farmington, CT
Maegan (Gross) Watson, Ph.D., 2016 Postdoctoral, Yale University, New Haven, CT
John Wizeman, Ph.D., 2016 Postdoctoral, UConn Health, Farmington, CT
Inseyah Bagasrawala, Ph.D., 2016 Postdoctoral, Jackson Laboratories, Bar Harbor, ME
Richard Lieberman, Ph.D., 2015 Postdoctoral, UConn Health, Psychiatry, Farmington, CT
Rodney Ritzel, Ph.D., 2015 Postdoctoral, University of Texas, Houston, TX
Kasey Johnson, Ph.D., 2015 Medical Science Liaison at Hologic Inc.
Xi Bie, Ph.D., 2015 Investment Analyst Intern at Spencer Trask Ventures
Kyle Denton, Ph.D., 2015 Postdoctoral, National Institutes of Health, MD
Megan Miller, Ph.D., 2015 Postdoctoral, Yale University, New Haven, CT
Liangfang Zhao, Ph.D., 2014 Postdoctoral, Brandeis University, MA
Matthew Hammond, MBA, Ph.D., 2014 Senior Associate, RA Capital Management, LLC, Boston
Katerina Oikonomou, Ph.D., 2014 Postdoctoral, University of California, Los Angeles
Anthony Giampetruzzi, Ph.D., 2013 Postdoctoral, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Kumiko (Ijichi) Claycomb, Ph.D., 2013 Postdoctoral, Yale University, New Haven, CT
Shaina Short, Ph.D., 2013 Postdoctoral, University of Utah, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, UT
Bharti Manwani, M.D./Ph.D., 2013 Residency in Neurology, UConn and Hartford Hospital, CT
Verica Milivojevic, Ph.D., 2012 Associate Research Scientist, Yale University, New Haven, CT
Haiying Zhan, Ph.D., 2012 Postdoctoral, Yale University, New Haven, CT
Wen-Liang Zhou, Ph.D., 2012 Government Defense Contractor, CT
Lawrence Hsieh, Ph.D., 2011 Postdoctoral, Yale University,New Haven, CT
Chad Siegel, Ph.D., 2011 Assistant Medical Director at The Scienomics Group, Greenwich, CT
Nicole Jackman, Ph.D., 2011 and M.D., 2013 Research track residency in anesthesiology, University of California, San Francisco
Drew Kiraly, Ph.D., 2011 and M.D., 2013 Physician scientist (research track) residency in Psychiatry at Mt. Sinai, NY
Eric Gaier, Ph.D., 2011 and M.D., 2013 Research track residency in ophthalmology at Mass Eye and Ear (Massachusetts General Hospital)
Jane Sutherland, Ph.D., 2010 Postdoctoral, Mannheimer Foundation, Inc
Ricka Messer, M.D./Ph.D., 2010 Residency in Pediatrics at UConn Health,
Anna Moore, Ph.D., 2010 Postdoctoral, Brandeis University, MACT/
Johns-Hopkins, MD
Robert Claycomb, M.D./Ph.D., 2009 Fellow, Vascular Neurology (Stroke),Department of Neuroscience, UC San Diego, School of Medicine, CA
Danielle (Bousquet) Moore, Ph.D., 2009 Clinical Team Lead at Syneos Health, Raleigh-Durham, NC
Zhou Han, Ph.D., 2008 Postdoctoral, Yale University, CT
Joseph Cruz Madara, Ph.D., 2008 Postdoctoral, Scripps Institute, La Jolla, CA
Dori Schafer, Ph.D., 2008 Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Medical School, MA
Vedakumar Tatavarty, Ph.D., 2008 Postdoctoral, Brandeis University, MA
Marius Ifrim, Ph.D., 2008 Instructor, Department of Cell Biology, Emory University, GA
Mark Niciu, M.D./Ph.D., 2008 Clinical Research Fellow at National Institute of Mental Health
Yuanzheng Gao, Ph.D., 2007 Research Associate, University of Florida, Gainsville, FL
Jacqueline Sobota, D.M.D./Ph.D., 2007 Assistant Professor, Hostra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine, & Associate Program Director, North Shore-LIJ Department of Dental Medicine, Manhasset, NY
Birgit Fogal, Ph.D., 2007 Principal Scientist at Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
Kristian Hedstrom, Ph.D., 2007 Program Manager, Neurology at Adelson Medical Research Foundation
Mary Hamby, Ph.D., 2007 Research Scientist, Neuroinflammation Drug Discovery at Lundbeck, NJ
Yang Yang, Ph.D., 2006 Ophthalmic Consultants of Boston, MA
Jason Cromer, Ph.D., 2006 Director of Clinical Science at Cogstate, NY
Dale Fortin, Ph.D., 2006 Postdoctoral, OHSU, OR
Lei Jin, Ph.D., 2005 Science Multimedia Producer, Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard Medical School
Chana Rabiner, Ph.D., 2005 Vice President at SciMetrika, LLC & Founder/Director Global Health Programs
Jay Pathmanathan, M.D./Ph.D., 2004 Epileptologist, Department of Neurology, Mass General Hospital, Harvard, MA
Chang Xu, Ph.D., 2003 Associate at the Boston Consulting Group
Joseph Trettel, M.D./Ph.D., 2003 Medical Director, Neuropsychiatry, The Ayer Neuroscience Institute, Hartford Hospital, CT
Christopher Michael Taylor, Ph.D.,2003 Principal Scientist at Pfizer, Cambridge, MA
William D’Angelo, Ph.D., 2003 Engineer, Naval Undersea Warfare Center Headquarters, RI