Faculty Information

A list of the Neuroscience Program faculty, with their contact information and a brief description of their research interests, is provided below. More details of faculty research and current laboratory rotation opportunities and projects can be found at the Graduate School faculty directory website.

 

Name Rotation Thesis Advisor Contact Location Research
Srdjan D. Antic, M.D. Y Y antic@uchc.edu

860-679-8468

Main Building

E3052

Dendritic integration of synaptic inputs; dopaminergic modulation of dendritic excitability.
Rashmi Bansal, Ph.D. N N bansal@uchc.edu

860-679-1133

Main Building

E4014

Developmental, cellular and molecular biology of oligodendrocytes; growth factor regulation of function and its relationship to neurodegenerative disease, including multiple sclerosis.
Elisa Barbarese, Ph.D. N N barbarese@uchc.edu

860-679-3495

Main Building

E5053

Molecular and cellular biology of neural cells with emphasis on RNA trafficking.
Kyle Baumbauer, Ph.D. Y Y kbaumbauer@uchc.edu

860-679-7390

Main Building

L4019

Pain, injury and inflammation-induced plasticity; nociceptive signaling.
Leslie R. Bernstein, Ph.D. Y Y les@uchc.edu

860-679-4622

Main Building

L3047

Behavioral neuroscience; psychoacoustics, binaural hearing.
John H. Carson, Ph.D.  Y N jcarson@uchc.edu

860-679-2130

400 Farmington

1431

Molecular/developmental neurobiology; myelination; intracellular RNA trafficking; computational cell biology.
Stormy J. Chamberlain, Ph.D.  Y Y chamberlain@uchc.edu

860-679-8351

400 Farmington

1236

Uses induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) to study the human neurogenetic disorders, Angelman syndrome and 15q duplication syndrome.
Bojun Chen, PhD. Y Y bochen@uchc.edu Main Building

L4021

Jonathan M. Covault, M.D., Ph.D. N N jocovault@uchc.edu

860-679-7560

Main Building

L4091

Genetic correlates of alcohol use disorders; role of neuroactive steroids in the effects of alcohol.
Stephen J. Crocker, Ph.D.  Y Y crocker@uchc.edu

860-679-8750

Main Building

E4054

Brain injury/repair; neurodegenerative diseases; neuroinflammation; myelin injury; neural stem cell differentiation; signal transduction; glia; matrix metalloproteinases/inhibitors.
Elizabeth A. Eipper, Ph.D. Y N eipper@uchc.edu

860-679-8898

Main Building

E4041

Cell biology/biochemistry/physiology of peptide synthesis; storage/secretion in neurons and endocrine cells.
Rosaria Guzzo, PhD Y Y guzzo@uchc.edu

860-679-3026

Main Building

E4032

Epigenetic mechanisms underlying pluripotent stem cell differentiation, musculoskeletal development, and tissue homeostasis.
George A. Kuchel, MD, FRCP, AGSF Y Y kuchel@uchc.edu

860-679-6796

ASB 2 Aging; neural regulation of bladder function; resilience and neural plasticity.
Eric S. Levine, Ph.D. Y Y eslevine@uchc.edu

860-679-2145

Main Building

E3053

Synaptic plasticity; role of endogenous cannabinoids and nerve growth factors in the hippocampus and cerebral cortex.
Yuanhao “James” Li, Ph.D. jali@uchc.edu

860-679-3836

Main Building

E3014

Development of the central nervous system; cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying formation of the mammalian cerebellum
Leslie M. Loew, Ph.D.  Y Y les@uchc.edu

860-679-3568

400 Farmington

1608

Morphological determinants of cell physiology; image-based computational models; spatial variations of cell membrane electrophysiology; new optical methods for probing living cells.
Xin-Ming Ma, Ph.D.  Y N ma@uchc.edu

860-679-7957

Main Building

E4030

Uses Induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC)-derived neurons are using to study the mechanisms of the human psychiatric disorders, schizophrenia and cocaine addiction. Synaptogenesis and the plasticity of dendritic spines.
Richard E. Mains, Ph.D.  Y N mains@uchc.edu

860-679-8894

Main Building

E4056

Neuronal tissue culture; peptides; vesicles; enzymes; drug abuse; development; pituitary.
David Martinelli, PhD. Y Y davidmartinelli@uchc.edu

860-679-2271

Main Building

L4003

Genetics, cell biology, biochemistry, and behavioral neuroscience in synaptic adhesion proteins and their role in neuropsychiatric disease.
Royce Mohan, Ph.D.  Y Y mohan@uchc.edu

860-679-2020

Main Building

L4023

Developing treatments for conditions and diseases of the eye that involve angiogenesis, fibrosis and gliosis. Developed first pharmacological probe of type III intermediate filaments (IFs), demonstrating the effective targeting of vimentin and glial fibrillary acidic protein by the natural product withaferin A.
Douglas L. Oliver, Ph.D. Y Y doliver@uchc.edu

860-679-2241

Main Building

L3042

Circuitry and parallel information processing in the auditory system; neurobiology of hearing, deafness, and tinnitus; role of neuronal cell types and intrinsic membrane properties in information processing; structure and function of CNS sensory systems.
Feliks (Ephraim) Trakhtenberg, Ph.D. Y Y trakhtenberg@uchc.edu

860-679-7819

Main Building

L4005

Neuroregeneration: Integrating molecular, genetic, bioinformatic, and translational approaches in studying neuronal development, towards engineering gene therapy and nanotechnology-based therapeutics for regenerating injured nerve/brain tissues and connections.
Rajkumar Verma, PhD Y Y verma@uchc.edu

860-679-4552

Main Building

E5050

Stroke research, Drug target validation, behavioral pharmacology and neuroimmune interaction.
Zhao-Wen Wang, Ph.D.  Y Y zwwang@uchc.edu

860-679-7659

Main Building

L4017

Molecular mechanism of neurotransmitter release regulation, and molecular mechanisms of gap junction function, assembly and regulation using C. elegans as a model system.
Erin E. Young, Ph.D. eyoung@uchc.edu
860-679-2852
400 Farmington

6403

Genetic susceptibility to chronic pain following inflammation and injury with the ultimate goal being the determination of the genetic contributions to chronic pain susceptibility in somatic and visceral pain systems.
Ji Yu, Ph.D.  Y Y jyu@uchc.edu

860-679-7680

400 Farmington

1605

Optical imaging technology; regulatory mechanisms in dendritic RNA translation; cytoskeletal dynamics.
Lixia Yue, Ph.D. Y Y lyue@uchc.edu

860-679-3069

Main Building

EG024

Calcium signaling mechanism and its physiological/pathological functions in various systems.