Author: Sheryl Rosen

Graduate Student Ziming Cao Named Robert Gunn Student Award Finalist

Ziming Cao was selected as a Robert Gunn Student Award finalist by the American Physiology Society Cell & Molecular Physiology Section and was invited to present a poster at the Robert Gunn Student Award competition at the APS Summit 2023 in Long Beach, California. Ziming’s project in Dr. Zhichao Fan's lab is using single-cell RNA sequencing to understand the heterogeneity of neutrophils in cherubic mice. This work is a collaboration with the labs of Dr. Beiyan Zhou and Dr. I-Ping Chen.

Graduate Student Ziming Cao sitting in front of a computer monitor

Alyssa Matz and Keaton Karlinsey Receive AHA Predoctoral Research Awards

Congratulations to Alyssa Matz and Keaton Karlinsey for receiving  Predoctoral Research Awards from the American Heart Association! These highly competitive awards provide two years of full stipend support to carry out their innovative projects. Alyssa will apply her newly developed computational program to decipher B cell function in obesity. Keaton will develop a supernetwork-guided prediction model for cardiovascular disease risks in the diabetic population. Alyssa (Ph.D. candidate) and Keaton (M.D./Ph.D. candidate) are members of Dr. Beiyan Zhou’s lab.

Beiyan Zhou, Alyssa Matz, and Keaton Karlinsey sitting in front of two computer monitors

Charles Janeway Poster Award for Graduate Student Timofey Karginov

October 2022
New England Immunology Conference held in Woods Hole, MA.

Timofey Karginov received the Charles Janeway Poster Award at the 2022 New England Immunology Conference held in Woods Hole, MA for his poster entitled “Splicing of ultraconserved poison exon elements in RNA binding proteins reprograms the T effector immune response”. His project is a significant joint effort by his thesis mentor Dr. Anthony Vella and Dr. Antoine Ménoret as well as the labs of Dr. Olga Anczuków, Dr. Linda Cauley, Dr. Beiyan Zhou, Dr. Adam Adler, and Dr. Patrick Murphy. 

Timofey Karginov standing with Anthony Vella in front of his poster presentation

Jenna Bartley Receives 9% Percentile on First R01 Grant Submission

Congratulations to Dr. Jenna Bartley, Assistant Professor in the UConn Center on Aging and the Department of Immunology, as well as a UConn Pepper Center Scholar, for receiving a 9% percentile on her first ever R01 grant submission for a project entitled “Impact of Senolytics on Aged Vaccine Responses”. While official notification is pending, her percentile is well under the NIA interim pay line of 15% for New and Early Stage Investigators.

Jenna Bartley, Ph.D.