Month: April 2023

Dr. Jianbin Ruan’s Paper Published in Nature

Congratulations to Dr. Jianbin Ruan for having his paper, "Structural Basis for GSDMB pore formation and it's Targeting by IpaH7.8", published in the journal Nature. This paper presents the cryo-EM structures of both Gasdermin B (GSDMB) pore and GSDMB in complex with a Shigella effector, IpaH7.8. The study sheds light on the structural mechanisms that govern GSDMB-mediated pyroptosis, which is regulated by pathogenic bacteria and alternative splicing. This work is a significant contribution to the field and is sure to have a lasting impact on future research in this area. 

Dr. Beiyan Zhou

Dr. Anthony Vella Named Fellow by the American Association of Advancement of Science

Dr. Anthony Vella, Chair of the Department of Immunology who holds the Boehringer Ingelheim Chair in Immunology and is the Senior Associate Dean of Research Planning and Coordination; has been elected as a Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals. Dr. Vella's laboratory research focuses on aspects of T cell costimulation and inflammation biology with the aim to uncover how T cells function. Overall, his laboratory has uncovered fundamental concepts in basic immunology and adjuvant research, and has extended these finds into tumor immunotherapy projects, T cell immunobiology, inflammatory based disease models including lung injury and metabolism research. 

Dr. Anthony Vella

Dr. Adam Adler and Dr. Annabelle Rodriguez-Oquendo Awarded NIH R21 Grant

Congratulations to Dr. Adam Adler from the Department of Immunology and Dr. Annabelle Rodriguez-Oquendo from the Center for Vascular Biology on the award of their NIH R21 grant through the National Cancer Institute entitled, "Understanding how the interaction between Lag3 deficiency and hypercholesterolemia impact anti-tumor immunity and cardiovascular disease in a melanoma model".

Dr. Adam Adler and Dr. Annabelle Rodriguez-Oquendo