Graduate Student Research Day

What Is Graduate Student Research Day?

Once a year, the Graduate Student Organization (GSO) holds an event on the UConn Health campus called Graduate Student Research Day (GSRD). GSRD is a forum for the students in the graduate school to present their research through poster presentations.

At the end of the day, there is a keynote address by an invited speaker.

GSRD 2018 is set for Tuesday, June 26, 2018.

Our keynote speaker will be Dr. Christine M. Disteche, Ph.D., Director of the University of Washington Regional Cytogenetics Laboratory, Professor of Pathology, University of Washington.

Last year, GSRD was held on Monday, June 26, 2017.  Read about GSRD 2017 here.


Schedule of Events:

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

9:00 a.m.
Poster Session Setup
Location: Rotunda Lobby
9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.
Poster Session

Location: Rotunda Lobby
11:30 a.m.
Opening Remarksby Dr. Bruce Liang
Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research Mentoring
Location: Academic Rotunda
11:40 a.m.
2017-18 Lepow Award Recipient Presentation: Ms. Ashley Russo
Characterizing the Role of Inflammasome-Induced Alarmins in Sepsis
Location: Academic Rotunda
12:10 p.m. Keynote Address: Dr. Christine M. Disteche Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology
Adjunct Professor of Medicine (Medical Genetics)
University of Washington
3D Structure of the Inactive X Chromosome and Role in Sex Differences
Location: Academic Rotunda
1:10 p.m.
Graduate Student Lunch (RSVP required!)
Location Center Courtyard (rain location: Academic Rotunda)
2:00 p.m.
Area of Concentration Oral Presentations
Location: Academic Rotunda
2:00 p.m. – Cell Analysis and Modeling
2:15 p.m. – Cell Biology
2:30 p.m. – Genetics and Developmental Biology
2:45 p.m. – Immunology
3:00 p.m. – Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
3:15 p.m. – Neuroscience
3:30 p.m. – Skeletal Biology and Regeneration
3:45 p.m.
4:00 p.m.
Location: Academic Rotunda
Introduction of 2018-19 GSO Officers
2018-19 Lepow Award Winner
2018 Raisz Award Winner
2018 Edward G. Henderson Memorial Prize Winner
2018 Osborn Biomedical Science Graduate Teaching Award Winner
Poster and Oral Presentation Award Winners
5:30 p.m. Student Dinner with Dr. Disteche
Location: Cugino’s  (RSVP required!)

2018 Graduate Student Poster Session and Contest Rules

The 35th Annual Graduate Student Research Day (GSRD) is on Tuessday June 26th. To celebrate the research students have done, we will be having a poster presentation in the morning starting around 9:30am as well as oral presentations around 2pm. In order to make GSRD happen, we need abstracts from you!

If you’d like to give an oral presentation, please send your abstract* to Dorothy Linnhoff ( AND Elise Pitmon ( by May 14th by 11pm. 

If you’d like to give a poster presentation, please send your abstract* to Dorothy Linnhoff ( AND Elise Pitmon ( by May 21st by 11 pm.

Poster presentations will be based on a first come, first serve basis. Get those poster abstracts in fast as space is limited (approximately 40 posters will be accepted). Posters need to be 42″ wide and 36.5″ high. Printing is available through the Storrs campus as long as official UConn Health and Graduate logos are used. If you need help or have more questions about printing your posters please contact me.

*Abstracts:  Please follow the abstract guidelines and please submit your abstract using the 2018_Abstract Guidlines and Template GSRD attached. You’ll need to change the name of the file to: Last name_Abstract_PresentationType (OralOnly/PosterOnly/Oral or Poster).

We need the abstracts to be in the same format; if you do not follow the guideline, we will ask to you to resubmit following the instructions.  Also, please include your concentration and PI in your email along with the abstract.


Beyond being a venue to present your research, there will also be a poster contest (3 awards) and oral presentation contest (1 award) with a cash prize for those presentationswhich best fit the following criteria:

  • clarity and conciseness
  • integrity of methodology and support of aim(s)
  • importance and relevance
  • organization and aesthetics

Good luck!

Graduate Student Lunch (RSVP required)

All graduate students are invited to this year’s GRSD lunch.  A sign up link will be emailed to students.

Area of Concentration Oral Presentations

Faculty from each area of concentration will choose a representative student from their respective disciplines. Each presenter will have approximately 10 minutes to present their work during the morning presentations.

The oral presentation by the 2018 Lepow Award recipient, Ms. Ashley Russo (Ph.D. in Biomedical Science student, PI: Dr. Vijay Rathinam; Immunology Area of Concentration), will follow the poster session.

Keynote Speaker: 2018

We are pleased to announce that our keynote speaker this year is Dr. Christine M. Disteche, Ph.D., Director of the University of Washington Regional Cytogenetics Laboratory, Professor of Pathology, University of Washington.

Graduate Student Dinner with Dr. Disteche (RSVP required)

All UConn Health Graduate School students are invited to a dinner with Dr. Disteche. Space is very limited; a sign up link will be emailed to graduate students.

Previous Guest Speakers

Previous speakers from recent years include:

  • Dr. Mark H. Tuszynski (2017), M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Neurosciences, University of California, San Diego.  Read about GSRD 2017 here.
  • Dr. Deborah Hogan (2016), Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth.  Read more about the day here.
  • Dr. Lippincott-Schwartz (2015), NIH Distinguished Investigator, Chief, Section on Organelle Biology, Cell Biology and Metabolism Program, NICHS, NIH.
  • Dr. Susan Ackerman (2014), Investigator and Professor, HHMI and The Jackson Laboratory.
  • Dr. Thomas Steitz (2013), 2009 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry, Yale University Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, Professor of Chemistry, and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Read about the 2013 GSRD
  • Dr. Jeffrey Lichtman (2012), Jeremy R. Knowles Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry, from Harvard University. Read about the 2012 GSRD.
  • Dr. Marina Picciotto (2011), Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Neurobiology and of Pharmacology, Yale University. Read about the 2011 GSRD.
  • Dr. Richard Kolesnick (2010), Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research and professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University.
  • Dr. Freda Miller (2009), senior scientist in the Department of Developmental Biology at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and professor at the University of Toronto.
  • Dr. Henry Kronenberg (2008), Division Head of Endocrinology at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School.
  • Dr. Craig Hunter (2007), Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Harvard University.
  • Dr. George Q. Daley (2006), Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Director of the Stem Cell Program at Children’s Hospital, Boston and Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School.
  • Dr. James Allison (2005), Chairman of Immunology and David H. Koch Chair in Immunological Studies at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.


rev. 7/18