Clinical Core

The CRC Clinical Core offers investigators access to registered nurse (RN), clinical research assistant (CRA), and clinical research technician (CRT) staff experienced in the conduct of clinical research studies. Investigators are encouraged to contact the Clinical Core Nurse Manager to discuss their particular needs.

Location

  • From the main entrance, take the first hallway on the left—along the front of the building—to the first waiting room, CM100.

Services

  • Screening/recruitment
  • Informed consent process
  • Study visits
  • Phlebotomy/specimen collection
  • Study medication administration
  • Study coordination
  • IRB submissions
  • Regulatory binder creation/maintenance
  • SAE/AE tracking and reporting
  • Research record chart assembly and maintenance
  • Medical exam room use

Staff

Thomas Kiely, RN
Nurse Manager
Phone: 860.679.1707
Email: kiely@uchc.edu

Paul Appleton, MD, CCRP
Clinical Research Assistant 2
Phone: 860.679.3088
Email: pappleton@uchc.edu

Kathleen Curley, RN, BS, CCRP
Research Facilitator
Phone: 860.679.2633
Email: kcurley@uchc.edu

Slawa Gajewska, MA, BEc, MEc, CCRP
Clinical Research Assistant 1
Phone:860.679.3445
Email: gajewska@uchc.edu

Lorraine Iverson Phaneuf, MA, CCRP
Clinical Research Technician
Phone: 860.679.3445
Email: iverson@uchc.edu

Patricia Keltonic, RN
Staff Nurse
Phone 860.679.4903
Email: keltonic@uchc.edu

Mariola Borla-Smialek, RN, BSN, CCRP
Research Facilitator
Phone: 860.679.2996
Email: smialek@uchc.edu

Harriet Zawistowski, BGS, CCRP
Clinical Research Assistant 3
Phone: 860.679.1658
Email: zawistowski@uchc.edu