Leadership

Interim President, University of Connecticut
Chief Executive Officer, UConn Health
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs

Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.
860-679-2594
agwunobi@uchc.edu

Dr. Andrew (“Andy”) Agwunobi – a pediatrician and experienced health system CEO with an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business – is presently the Interim President of the University of Connecticut. The UConn Board of Trustees unanimously selected Dr. Agwunobi to lead the University to a successful reopening in the fall and carry on other critical missions.

In addition to Interim President, he will continue to serve as Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President for Health Affairs for UConn Health. In this role, he is responsible for the University of Connecticut’s $1.3 billion academic health system. UConn Health includes a teaching hospital, faculty practice plan, a medical school, dental school, research facilities, and an incubator facility/program for biotechnology startup Prior to UConn Health, Dr. Agwunobi served in several high profile roles, including President and CEO of 1,100-bed Grady Health System in Atlanta, Georgia; CEO of Providence Healthcare, a five-hospital region of Providence Health & Services in Spokane, Washington; and Secretary of the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration responsible for Florida’s $16 billion healthcare administration budget including Medicaid, as well as regulatory oversight of managed care programs, home healthcare, and hospitals. Dr. Agwunobi also served as a managing director and co-leader of the healthcare financial and operational performance improvement practice of Berkeley Research Group (BRG), the 6th largest healthcare consulting firm in the U.S. He served as Chief Operating Officer of 14-hospital St. Joseph Health System in California and President and CEO of Tenet South Fulton Hospital in East Point, Georgia. As a pediatrician, Dr. Agwunobi has practiced on both coasts, including at Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates in Boston and Palo Alto Medical Foundation in California.

Dr. Agwunobi is a published author of two books: “An Insider’s Guide to Physician Engagement” (2018 Health Administration Press, Chicago) and “An Insider’s Guide to Working with Healthcare Consultants” (2019 Health Administration Press, Chicago). Dr. Agwunobi has also received several recognitions and awards. Some examples include being named in 2020 by the Hartford Business Journal as one of Hartford's "Power 25 in Healthcare," a recognition of 25 healthcare leaders who are significantly impacting the industry and public health. In 2007, Modern Healthcare magazine named Dr. Agwunobi one of the "50 Most Powerful Physician Executives" nationally, and in 2005, Atlanta Business League named him CEO of the Year. In 2004, Atlanta Peachtree Rotary named Dr. Agwunobi “Speaker and Citizen of the Year,” and Tenet Healthcare awarded Dr. Agwunobi its “CEO Circle of Excellence” award in 2003. He was also awarded the “Agent of Change Award” by Catalyst Magazine in 2002, and, in the same year, Georgia Trend named him a “40 under 40” rising star.

Deans

Steven M. Lepowsky, D.D.S.

Steven M. Lepowsky, D.D.S.

Dean, School of Dental Medicine
860-679-4885
lepowsky@uchc.edu
View Bio

Bruce T. Liang, M.D., FACC

Bruce T. Liang, M.D., FACC

Dean, School of Medicine
860-679-3343
bliang@uchc.edu
View Bio

UConn Health Leadership

Deb Abromaitis

Deb Abromaitis

Director, Regulatory Compliance
860-679-7015
abromaitis@uchc.edu

Scott R. Allen, M.D.

Scott R. Allen, M.D.

Medical Director, Clinical Effectiveness and Patient Safety
Chief Quality Officer
Chief Medical Officer
860-679-4584
sallen@uchc.edu
View Bio

Jeffrey M. Blumenthal

Jeffrey M. Blumenthal

No photo available

Adam Buckley

Chief Information Officer (Interim)
860-679-3528
abuckley@uchc.edu

Lakeesha Brown

Lakeesha Brown

Associate Vice President, Human Resources
lakbrown@uchc.edu

Cathie Cannon

Cathie Cannon

Assistant Vice President, Health Marketing
860-679-6717
cacannon@uchc.edu

Alyssa Cunningham

Alyssa Cunningham

Assistant Vice President, Healthcare Compliance and Privacy
860-679-1014
alcunningham@uchc.edu

Jeffrey P. Geoghegan

Jeffrey P. Geoghegan

Chief Financial Officer
860-679-3162
geoghegan@uchc.edu

Anne Horbatuck

Anne Horbatuck

Vice President, Ambulatory Services
860-679-2376
horbatuck@uchc.edu

Chris Hyers

Chris Hyers

Vice President, Strategy and Business Development
860-679-8760
hyers@uchc.edu

Andrea Keilty

Andrea Keilty

Denis Lafreniere, M.D.

Denis Lafreniere, M.D.

Medical Director
Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
860-679-3372
lafreniere@uchc.edu
View Bio

Kim Metcalf

Kim Metcalf

Associate Vice President, Pharmacy and Ancillary Services
860-679-7943
kmetcalf@uchc.edu

Cindy Molin

Cindy Molin

Vice President, Patient Experience
860-679-6377
molin@uchc.edu

Caryl Ryan, M.S., B.S.N., R.N.

Caryl Ryan, M.S., B.S.N., R.N.

Vice President, Quality and Patient Services
Chief Nursing Officer
860-679-7561
cryan@uchc.edu

Richard H. Simon, M.D.

Richard H. Simon, M.D.

Chief of Medical Staff
860-679-3534
simon@uchc.edu
View Bio

Janel Simpson

Janel Simpson

Chief Administrative Officer
860-679-6112
jsimpson@uchc.edu

Tom Trutter

Tom Trutter

Vice President, Facilities Development and Operations
860-679-8723
trutter@uchc.edu

Board of Directors

  • Kenneth Alleyne
    Orthopedic Surgeon
    Eastern Orthopedics
  • Francis X. Archambault Jr.
    Professor Emeritus
    University of Connecticut
  • Richard M. Barry
    Executive Vice President, Chief Credit Officer
    People’s United Bank
  • Andy F. Bessette
    Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer
    The Travelers Companies, Inc.
  • Richard T. Carbray Jr.
    Owner
    Apex Pharmacy, Home Care and Nutritional Center
  • Cheryl A. Chase
    Co-President, Principal and General Counsel
    Chase Enterprises
  • Sanford Cloud Jr., Chair
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    The Cloud Company, LLC
  • John F. Droney
    Partner
    Hinckley Allen Snyder, LLP
  • Joel Freedman
    Independent Public Policy Consultant
  • Timothy A. Holt
    Independent Business Consultant
  • Manisha Juthani
    Connecticut Department of Public Health
  • Wayne Rawlins
    Vice President and Senior Medical Director, Healthcare Services
    ConnectiCare, Inc.
  • Teresa M. Ressel
    Private Company Management
  • Mike Walsh
    Undersecretary, Strategic Initiatives and Accountability
    Connecticut Office of Policy and Management
  • Kathleen D. Woods
    Chairperson
    Farmington Woods Golf Club