Leadership

Chief Executive Officer,
UConn Health Executive Vice President for Health Affairs

Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.
860-679-2594
agwunobi@uchc.edu

Dr. Andrew Agwunobi is the Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President for Health Affairs for UConn Health system. In this role he is responsible for University of Connecticut’s $1-billion academic health system.

Prior to joining UConn Health Dr. Andrew Agwunobi — a pediatrician with an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business — served as managing director and a co-leader of Berkeley Research Group’s (BRG) Health System performance improvement consulting practice. Before BRG, Dr. Agwunobi served as CEO of Providence Healthcare, a five-hospital region of Providence Health & Services in Spokane, Washington. He also previously held the positions of president and CEO of Grady Health System in Atlanta; president and CEO of Tenet South Fulton Hospital in East Point, Georgia; chief operating officer of 14-hospital St. Joseph Health System in California; and secretary of the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration in which capacity he was responsible for Florida’s $16 Billion healthcare administration budget.

In 2003, Tenet Healthcare awarded Dr. Agwunobi its “CEO Circle of Excellence” award. In 2005, Dr. Agwunobi was named one of the "100 Most Influential Georgians” by Georgia Trend magazine. In 2007, Dr. Agwunobi was named one of the "50 Most Powerful Physician Executives" nationally by Modern Healthcare magazine. Other honors include CEO of the Year, Trailblazer category (Atlanta Business League, 2005), Most Influential Atlantans (Atlanta Business Chronicle, 2005), Speaker and Citizen of the Year (Atlanta Peachtree Rotary, 2004) and Agent of Change award (Catalyst magazine, 2002).

Dr. Agwunobi served on the Board of Directors of Gonzaga University where he also taught in the business school as adjunct faculty. Dr. Agwunobi is a published author. His book, An Insider’s Guide to Physician Engagement, was published in July 2017 (Health Administration Press, Chicago).

Administrative Leadership

Carolle Andrews

Carolle Andrews

Chief Administrative Officer
860-679-4109
candrews@uchc.edu

Jeffrey M. Blumenthal

Jeffrey M. Blumenthal

Chief Counsel (Interim)
860-679-2621
blumenthal@uchc.edu

Jeffrey P. Geoghegan

Jeffrey P. Geoghegan

Chief Financial Officer
860-679-3162
geoghegan@uchc.edu

Sharon M. Gordon, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D.

Sharon M. Gordon, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D.

Dean, School of Dental Medicine
860-679-2808
sgordon@uchc.edu

Chris Hyers

Chris Hyers

Chief Communications Officer
860-679-8760
crh@uconn.edu

Andrea Keilty

Andrea Keilty

Director, Governmental Relations
860-679-8190
keilty@uchc.edu

Bruce T. Liang, M.D., FACC

Bruce T. Liang, M.D., FACC

Dean, School of Medicine
860-679-3343
bliang@uchc.edu

Bruce Metz

Bruce Metz

Chief Information Officer
860-679-5517
metz@uchc.edu

John F. Peeples

John F. Peeples

Vice President, Human Resources
860-679-2204
peeples@uchc.edu

UConn Medical Group Leadership

Anne Horbatuck

Anne Horbatuck

Vice President, Ambulatory Services
860-679-2376
horbatuck@uchc.edu

Denis Lafreniere, M.D.

Denis Lafreniere, M.D.

Medical Director
Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
860-679-3372
lafreniere@uchc.edu

UConn John Dempsey Hospital Leadership

Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.

Andrew Agwunobi, M.D., M.B.A.

Chief Executive Officer
860-679-2594
agwunobi@uchc.edu

Scott R. Allen, M.D.

Scott R. Allen, M.D.

Medical Director, Clinical Effectiveness and Patient Safety
Chief Quality Officer
860-679-4584
sallen@uchc.edu

Ann Marie Capo, R.N.

Ann Marie Capo, R.N.

Vice President, Quality and Patient Services
Chief Nursing Officer
860-679-4144
capo@uchc.edu

Richard H. Simon, M.D.

Richard H. Simon, M.D.

Board of Directors

  • Kenneth Alleyne
    Orthopedic Surgeon
    Eastern Orthopedics
  • Francis X. Archambault Jr.
    Professor Emeritus
    University of Connecticut
  • Richard M. Barry
    Deputy Chief Risk Officer
    KeyBank
  • Andy F. Bessette
    Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer
    The Travelers Companies, Inc.
  • Richard T. Carbray Jr.
    Owner
    Apex Pharmacy, Home Care and Nutritional Center
  • Cheryl A. Chase
    Executive Vice President, Principal and General Counsel
    Chase Enterprises
  • Sanford Cloud Jr., Chair
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    The Cloud Company, LLC
  • John F. Droney
    Partner
    Hinckley Allen Snyder, LLP
  • Anne Foley
    Senior Policy Advisor to the Secretary
    Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
    State of Connecticut
  • Joel Freedman
    Independent Public Policy Consultant
  • Susan Herbst
    President
    University of Connecticut
  • Timothy A. Holt
    Independent Business Consultant
  • Raul Pino
    Commissioner
    Connecticut Department of Public Health
  • Wayne Rawlins
    Vice President and Senior Medical Director
    Healthcare Services, ConnectiCare, Inc.
  • Teresa M. Ressel
    Private Company Management
  • Kathleen D. Woods
    Chairperson
    Farmington Woods Golf Club