Virtual Visit: The Biomedical Science PhD Program at UConn Health

  • Student looking in a microscope, graduate student organization

Biomed Science PhD program graduate and UConn Health faculty Dr. Vanessa Scanlon: Set Up For Success

Biotech Startup Companies at UConn Health

UCH Grad School Newsletter

Learn more about UCH Grad School programs in our latest Newsletter: February 2024 UConn Health Graduate School Newsletter


In the News...

UConn Health Graduate School DEI Committee Launches New Seminar Series

40th Annual Biomedical Science Graduate Student Research Day Features Program Alumni

Why don't Vaccines Work as Well in Some Older Adults?

Dr. Liisa Kuhn Develops Patent-Pending Process to Create Comfortable Prosthetics for Breast Cancer Survivors

Researchers Improve Efficacy and Efficiency of CRISPR Diagnostic Technology

UConn Participates in First Ever Clinical Trial of Ketogenic Supplements and Health Aging 

Youthful Proteins Help Regrow Nerves

Science in Seconds: Handheld 3D Bioprinters to Treat Musculoskeletal Injuries

Skeletal Biology and Regeneration Students Showcase Research at Second Annual Symposium

Dr. Yulan Xiong IDs Key Mechanism in Parkinson's Disease Research

Dr. Irina Bezsonova's Research Grant Targets Hao-Foundation Syndrome

Dr. Ming Xu Receives AFAR Rising Star Award in Aging Research0

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin Named 2023 Inventor of the Year by IPOEF

Innovation at UConn Health: Meet Basic Scientist Dr. Kimberly Dodge-Kafka

Meet The Class of 2023: UConn Health Graduate School Commencement Speaker Emily Fabrizio-Stover

Science in Seconds: The Wonders of Walnuts in Colon Cancer Research

Combining Two Bone Healing Remedies Can Inhibit Bone Growth and Regeneration

Mitochondria Linked to Major Depression in Older Adults

The Heart of the Matter: New Drug Reduces Inflammation During Coronary Catheterization

Q&A: Dr. Pramod Srivastava Explains the Hunt for a Breast Cancer Vaccine

Faculty Spotlight


Brief videos from the Office of Faculty Affairs highlighting some of our Biomedical Science PhD program faculty

Dr. Wendy Mok

Dr. Marja Hurley

Dr. Irina Bezsonova

Dr. Evan Jellison

Dr. Douglas Oliver

Dr. Archana Sanjay

Dr. Beiyan Zhou

Dr. Jeffrey Hoch

New Off-Campus Housing website

UConn Health does not have on-campus housing available on our campus.  However, the University’s Off-Campus Housing Office has a new section to search for housing in the UConn Health campus area of Farmington and beyond. Visit for more information!

The Roommate Finder section is also active, and is a password protected site where students can log in using their NetID to search for roommates.

Roommate Finder Info

Biomedical Science PhD Program Outcomes:

GSO Contacts


Feel free to reach out to our 2023-24 Graduate Student Organization (GSO) representatives with questions about the program or specific AoCs:

Deepa Anjan Kumar
Vice President: Rachel Gilmore
Treasurer: Hunter Panier
Academic Committee Chair: 
Brenna McAllister
Social Committee Chair: Sai Nivedita Krisnan
Social Media Chair: Perla El Ahmad

AoC Representatives:

Cell Biology:Cindy Li
Genetics and Developmental Biology: Sanjucta Adak
Immunology:Arshmeet Kaur Chawla
Molecular Biology and Biochemistry: Patricia Hare
Neuroscience: Pearl Sutter
Skeletal Biology and Regeneration: Travis Wallace
Systems Biology: Rudradeep Mukherjee

Blackboard Collaborate Info

Collaborate Overview for Candidates

Student Groups


Graduate Student Organization (GSO)

Young Explorers in Science (YES) Program- a student led group providing research and science exposure for high school students within the under-served communities of Connecticut

Beyond the PhD- a student-led group that supporting peer-professional networking and career development in STEM.

MBB Diversity and Inclusion Group: open to all AoC students, this student-led group was founded to be a supportive space to discuss race, diversity, inclusion, and tolerance (contact: Angie DeMarco)

Sustainability at UConn Health Student Interest Group: open to all student on UConn Health campus; this group recognizes our responsibility to address the health impacts of environmental damage and fight the progression of climate change. Our group supports the UConn Health community in its quest to minimize our carbon footprint, both on and off campus.

UCH Graduate School DEI Committee
This committee is comprised of graduate students, postdocs, faculty, and staff in The Graduate School at UConn Health