Faculty and Staff

The department consists of 24 full- and part-time faculty, 20 faculty with joint appointments, over 35 adjunct faculty with clinical or teaching appointments, and over 25 dedicated research, administrative, and professional staff members.

Department Administration

Chair Person
Douglas M. Brugge, Ph.D., M.S.

Vice Chair
Howard Tennen, Ph.D.

Director of Program in Applied Public Health Sciences
David I. Gregorio, Ph.D., M.S.

Administrative Officer
Denise L. Parris

Did You Know?

Group of faculty members

The department has two endowed chairs: Health Net, Inc. Chair in Community Medicine and Public Health, Doug Brugge, Ph.D., M.S., and UConn Health Auxiliary/Joseph M. Healey, Jr. Chair in Medical Humanities and Bioethics, Audrey Chapman, Ph.D., M.Div., S.T.M..


Howard Tennen, Ph.D. was the first Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor to be named at UConn Health.

Faculty Members and their Area of Interest

Thomas F. Babor, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Thomas F. Babor, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Professor
babor@uchc.edu
Alcohol and drug problems & related cultural factors

Bermudez-Millan

Angela Bermúdez-Millán, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor
bermudez-millan@uchc.edu
Nutrition and health policy

Stacey Brown, Ph.D. Associate Professor

Stacey Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
stbrown@uchc.edu
Health sociology

Mary Beth Bruder, Ph.D.

Mary Beth Bruder, Ph.D.
Professor
bruder@uchc.edu
Developmental disabilities and early intervention

Doug Brugge, PhD

Douglas M. Brugge, Ph.D., M.S.
Professor and Chair
brugge@uchc.edu
Occupational & environmental health

Joseph A. Burleson, Ph.D.

Joseph A. Burleson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
burleson@up.uchc.edu
Substance abuse; Research design & analysis

Jennifer Cavallari, Sc.D. Assistant Professor

Jennifer Cavallari, Sc.D.
Associate Professor
cavallari@uchc.edu
Occupational & environmental epidemiology

Audrey Chapman, Ph.D., M.Div., S.T.M.

Audrey Chapman, Ph.D., M.Div., S.T.M.
Professor
achapman@uchc.edu
Humanities and bioethics

Kelly E. Ferreira, Ph.D.

Kelly E. Ferreira, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kferreira@uchc.edu
Developmental disabilities in early childhood

James Grady, Dr.P.H. Professor

James Grady, Dr.P.H.
Professor
jgrady@uchc.edu
Statistical methods

David I. Gregorio, Ph.D., M.S.

David I. Gregorio, Ph.D., M.S.
Professor
gregorio@uchc.edu
Disease surveillance; Cancer epidemiology

Toan Ha

Toan Ha, M.D., Dr.P.H.
Assistant Professor
tha@uchc.edu
Behavioral health; Research methods

Chia-Ling Kuo, Ph.D. Assistant Professor

Chia-Ling Kuo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kuo@uchc.edu
Statistical methods

Zita Lazzarini, J.D., M.P.H.

Zita Lazzarini, J.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor
lazzarini@uchc.edu
Public health law

Tara Lutz, PhD, MPH, CHES Assistant Professor

Tara Lutz, Ph.D., M.P.H., CHES
Assistant Professor
lutz@uchc.edu
Developmental disabilities & early intervention

McRee

Bonnie McRee, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor
mcree@uchc.edu
Substance abuse prevention

Greg Rhee, PhD

T. Greg Rhee, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Assistant Professor
rhee@uchc.edu
Population-based clinical outcomes research and health care policy

Stephen L. Schensul, Ph.D.

Stephen L. Schensul, Ph.D.
Professor
schensul@uchc.edu
AIDS risk (international), applied health research

Richard G. Stevens, Ph.D. Professor

Richard G. Stevens, Ph.D.
Professor
bugs@uchc.edu
Cancer epidemiology

Kerry-Ann V. Stewart, Ph.D. Assistant Professor

Kerry-Ann V. Stewart, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kestewart@uchc.edu
Biomedical sciences; Diversity

Helen Swede, Ph.D. Associate Professor

Helen Swede, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
swede@uchc.edu
Cancer chemoprevention, cancer disparities

Howard Tennen, Ph.D. Professor

Howard Tennen, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
tennen@uchc.edu
Stress, coping & adaptation to chronic illness

Jane A. Ungemack, Dr.P.H. Assistant Professor

Jane A. Ungemack, Dr.P.H.
Assistant Professor
ungemack@uchc.edu
Health services research/substance abuse

Scott L. Wetstone, M.D. Associate Professor

Scott L. Wetstone, M.D.
Associate Professor
wetstone@uchc.edu
Clinical epidemiology

Professors Emeriti

 

Faculty with Joint Appointments and their Area of Interest

A. Karim Ahmed, Ph.D.

A. Karim Ahmed, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Medicine
ahmed@ncseglobal.org
Environmental health

Thomas Buckley, M.P.H., R.Ph

Thomas Buckley, M.P.H., R.Ph.
Associate Clinical Professor, Pharmacy
thomas.e.buckley@uconn.edu
Health disparities, medication adherence

Martin G. Cherniack, M.D., M.P.H.

Martin G. Cherniack, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor, Medicine
cherniack@uchc.edu
Occupational health, environmental epidemiology

Alicia G. Dugan, Ph.D.

Alicia G. Dugan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Medicine
adugan@uchc.edu
Organizational psychology

Pouran Faghri, M.D.

Pouran Faghri, M.D.
Professor, Allied Health Sciences
pouran.faghri@uconn.edu
Worksite & community wellness programs

Ann M. Ferris, Ph.D., R.D.

Ann M. Ferris, Ph.D., R.D.
Professor Emerita, Medicine
aferris@uchc.edu
Childhood obesity prevention

Sharon M. Gordon, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D.

Sharon M. Gordon, DDS, MPH, PhD
Dean, Dental Medicine
sgordon@uchc.edu
Public health dentistry

Robert Henning, Ph.D.

Robert Henning, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychological Sciences
robert.henning@uconn.edu
Psychophysiology in ergonomics

female faculty

Amy A. Hunter, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
ahunter@connecticutchildrens.org
Injury epidemiology

Garry Lapidus, PA-C, MPH

Garry Lapidus, PA-C, M.P.H.
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
glapidu@connecticutchildrens.org
Injury prevention

Nicholas Leadbeater, Ph.D.

Nicholas Leadbeater, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry
nicholas.leadbeater@uconn.edu
Use of microwaves in synthetic chemistry

female faculty

Grael M. O'Brien, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
gobrien@uchc.edu
Epidemiology and child health

Linda S. Pescatello, PhD, FACSM

Linda S. Pescatello, Ph.D., FACSM
Professor, Kinesiology
linda.pescatello@uconn.edu
Exercise and aging

Julie Robison, Ph.D.

Julie Robison, Ph.D.
Professor, Medicine
jrobison@uchc.edu
Aging and health care

William S. Shaw, Ph.D.

William S. Shaw, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine
wshaw@uchc.edu
Program evaluation

Merrill Singer, PhD

Merrill Singer, Ph.D.
Professor, Anthropology
merrill.singer@uconn.edu
Medical anthropology

Karen L. Steinberg, Ph.D.

Karen L. Steinberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
ksteinberg@uchc.edu
Motivational interviewing

Thomas J. Van Hoof, MD, EdD

Thomas J. Van Hoof, M.D., Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Nursing
thomas.van_hoof@uconn.edu
Educational interventions

Xiaoyan Wang, Ph.D.

Xiaoyan Wang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
xiaowang@uchc.edu
Bioinformatics

Zhao Helen Wu, Ph.D.

Zhao Helen Wu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychiatry
zwu@uchc.edu
Substance abuse; Health disparities

Adjunct Faculty

The Program in Applied Public Health Sciences, in particular, and other centers, units, and divisions within the department utilize the services of 36 adjunct faculty and clinical community-based faculty from outside the department and/or UConn Health to teach or serve as preceptors to students. For information on contacting these individuals contact the particular area of the department who utilizes their services. If you know the individual works at UConn Health, try searching the UConn Health Employee Directory or if the individual's primary office is on the UConn Storrs campus try using the UConn phone book.

Staff

The department employs more than 25 dedicated professional research assistants, associates and administrative staff to support its research, teaching and service mission. For a search of full- or part-time staff members, use the UConn Health directory.