Dr. Cato Laurencin receives Abelson Prize from AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science awarded Dr. Cato Laurencin the prestigious Philip Hauge Abelson Prize on February 14, 2019 at a ceremony in Washington D.C.

Former AAAS President, Susan Hockfield, presented the award to Dr. Cato Laurencin.

Pictured: Rush D. Holt, AAAS CEO, Margaret Hamburg, AAAS President, and Dr. Cato Laurencin (Photo by: Robb Cohen Photography & Video)


The Abelson prize is named in honor of American physicist, scientific editor, and science writer Philip Hauge Abelson. The award was established in 1985 by the AAAS Board of Directors to be given to one who has made significant contributions to the advancement of science in the United States.

Dr. Laurencin was recognized for his innovative research, his contributions to national policies regarding science, and for his dedication to supporting diversity in the field.  Feel free to watch the award ceremony video, or read more about this distinguished recognition for Dr. Laurencin in UConn Today.