Members

Mayu Inaba PI

Mayu Inaba

Principal Investigator
Email: inaba@uchc.edu

Research interests; Asymmetric stem cell division, Gene regulation, Stem cell competition, Gene redundancy.

 

 

 

Centrosomes in Drosophila testis germline stem cellsMadona Masoud

Research assistant 1
Email:masoud@uchc.edu

 

Sharif M. Ridwan

Postdoctoral researcher
Email: ridwan@uchc.edu

Sharif's project is to visualize the localization and dynamics of interaction of signaling molecules during niche-stem cell interaction in vivo.

 

Matthew Antel

Graduate Student
Email:antel@uchc.edu

I am screening candidate genes using RNAi in order to find genes involved in regulating asymmetric stem cell divisions in the male germline. I’m interested in investigating the localization of mRNAs for these genes during division, and elucidating the molecular mechanisms by which they may regulate divisions of germ stem cells.

 

 

Muhammed Burak Bener

Graduate Student
Email: bener@uchc.edu

1)  My research project is focused on asymmetric cell division in Drosophila female germline stem cells. When stem cells divide, they generate one stem cell and one differentiating daughter cell. I am investigating intracellular cell-fate determining factors play a role in this asymmetry. 2)  I am interested in microtubule behavior during germline stem cell divisions in Drosophila ovary.

Taylor Simao

Medical Student
Email: simao@uchc.edu

Mec17 is a gene encoding an enzyme believed to catalyze the acetylation of alpha-tubulin at lysine residue, K40. To investigate the function of this gene, I have generated a knock-out Drosophila line through utilization of CRISPR/Cas9 technology. I am now investigating how microtubule acetylation impacts Drosophila oogenesis.

I am also interested in developing a protocol for the cryopreservation of Drosophila embryos that utilizes pressure as a means to achieve higher hatch/eclosion rates and fertility post-thawing. The ability to cryopreserve Drosophila embryos of different strains successfully and efficiently would be an ideal way to reduce the financial/time costs, space requirements, and any undesired mutations/contamination associated with flipping stocks.

Romir Raj

UConn Undergraduate Student
Email:romir.raj@uconn.edu

Romir investigates the mechanism of homologous chromosome pairing and transvection in germline stem cells.

Alumni

Abigail Descoteaux
Research Assistant, January 2018-August 2018

Justin Sardi
August 2017-August 2018
Current position; Medical Residence, Cooperstown, NY

Sophia Ladyzhets
Glastonbury High School
September 2017-August 2018

Naiya Patel
Glastonbury High School
September 2018-August 2019