Policy Committees

The Policy committees are charged with developing an easily accessible database of UConn Health and University-wide policies (i.e., those that include two or more of the following: School of Medicine, School of Dental Medicine, UConn John Dempsey Hospital, UConn Medical Group, or Central Administration).

Specific activities include:

  • Identifying institution wide policies that should be included in the database.
  • Reviewing policies under consideration for revision and recommending modifications so that they:
    • are clear to understand and interpret consistently
    • do not conflict with other institutional policies
    • have a common format with other policies
  • Publishing institution wide policies in an easily accessible database.
  • Assuring indexing for these policies, and providing a history of documented and dated approvals of policies and their revisions.
  • Assuring that a newly developed policy is vetted through proper channels.
  • Assuring that Board of Directors level and relevant University level policies are included for posting.

The Policy Committee does not have the authority to change the content or intent of policies, but may make recommendations for such changes to the committee(s) or persons who do have such authority.

Policy Committees

Clinical Policies

Scott Allen, Co-Chair
Chief Medical Officer, UConn John Dempsey Hospital

Anne Horbatuck, Co-Chair
Vice President, Ambulatory Operations

Caryl Ryan
Chief Operating Officer, UConn John Dempsey Hospital
Vice President, Quality and Patient Care Services
Chief Nursing Officer

Richard Simon
Chief of Medical Staff

Denis Lafreniere
Associate Dean, Clinical and Regulatory Affairs

Deb Abromaitis
Interim Clinical Compliance Officer

David Shafer
Chair, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Kevin Chamberlin
Interim Assistant Vice President and Chief of Pharmacy

Jeff Geoghegan
UConn Health Chief Financial Officer

Dirk Stanley
Chief Medical Information Officer

Administrative Support
Michelle Thomas

Administrative Policy Committee

Chair: Chief Administrative Officer
Vice-Chair: Faculty Affairs, Deans Office, Medical

Senior Leader of the following departments:
Accreditation and Regulatory Affairs
Employee Relations
Healthcare Compliance and Privacy
Human Resources
Information Technology
Procurement Operations Control
Research Compliance Services
Revenue Integrity, UConn Medical Group Administration
School of Dental Medicine Finance, Deans Office
School of Medicine Finance/Administration, Deans Office