

Group on Women in Medicine and Science, GWIMS

Annual Symposium

and

Recognition of Outstanding

Women Faculty

Monday, May 5, 2014

Welcoming Remarks:

Marja Hurley, M.D. **Professor of Medicine and Orthopedics** Chair, Group on Women in Medicine and Science Associate Dean, Health Career Opportunity Programs

Greetings on Behalf of UConn School of Medicine:

Frank Torti, M.D., M.P.H. **Executive Vice President for Health Affairs** and Dean of UConn School of Medicine

Keynote Address:

Joan McGowan, Ph.D. Director of the Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Faculty Honorees:

Louise McCullough, M.D. Ph.D. - Presented by Melinda Sanders, M.D. Biree Andemariam, M.D. - Presented by Pam Taxel, M.D. Jennifer Wolf, M.D. - Presented by Pam Taxel, M.D. Rashmi Bansal, Ph.D. - Presented by Biree Andemariam, M.D. Laurinda Jaffe, Ph.D. - Presented by Linda Shapiro, Ph.D. Sandra Weller, Ph.D. - Presented by Naomi Rothfield, M.D.

Closing Remarks:

Marja Hurley, M.D.

GWIMS Recognition of Outstanding School of Medicine Women Faculty

Recipient of 2014 GWIMS Outstanding Faculty Recognition Award for

Achievements in Research, Teaching and Patient Care

Louise McCullough, M.D. Ph.D., is a Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience at the University of

Connecticut Health Center. She is a clinician-acientist with a specific interest in the gender differences in

strole and vascular diseases. While spending several months a year on one of the businest "Strole services" in

New England she supervises multiple clinical projects using our well-established strole center databases. Louise's

dirical academic interests have been the development of emergent therapies for acute ischemic and

hemorrhagic stroke; neurology residency education in stroke care; and the creation of a regional stroke

and hemorrhagic stroke; neurology residency education in stroke care; and the creation of a regional stroke

and was promoted to fully professorship in 2012.

And the University of Connecticut and then came to the University of Connecticut Health Center where she

obtained an Mio in 1996. She completed her post-graduate rating in neurology and stroke at Johns

tolopian. Dr. McCullough was recruited in 2004 by UConn to start a clinical and research program in stroke

and was promoted to fully professorship in 2012.

Recipients of Women of Innovation Award from the Connecticut Technology

Council

Birea Andemariam, M.D., an Assistant Professor of Medicine Dr. Andemariam received her

undergraduate degree from Princetton University and medical degree from Tufts University School of

Medicine where she graduated with research tenter for the Hematology and Conology. Dr. Andemarian is

an expert in the management of malignant and non-malignant hematology devoloped. Pr. Andemarian is

an expert in the management of malignant and non-malignant hematologic disorders. In 2010, she

developed the region's only clinical and research center for deadutes with sicke cell disease.

Jennifer Wolf, M.D., is a nationa

Recipient of an NIH Merit Award by the National Advisory Child Health and Human Development Council

Laurinda Jaffe, Ph.D., is Professor and Chair in the Department of Cell Biology, Research in her lab concerns the physiological mechanisms that regulate the cocyte cell cycle and fertilitation. She discovered the electrically mediated mechanism that prevents polyperiny at fertilitation in many species, and together with members of her lab and other collaborators, identified the G-protein-coupled receptor that maintains meiotic arrest in mammalian coopers and educated how tutering formone restarts meloids. For more information, see https://pell.uch.edu/faculty.staf/jaffe_lab/index.html Dr. Jaffe's research has been supported since 1881 by a grant from the National institute of Child Health and Human Development on "Signal Transduction at Fertilization"; she was selected this year as a recipient of an NIH Merit award.

In Recognition of Being Selected as the First Woman President of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

Sandra Weller, Ph.D., is well known in the national and international scientific community for her separatis in Molecular Virology and in countley saked to present her research at analonal and international meetings. She has participated in a wide range of professional experiences including Division Chair of the SAM, Fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program, founder or organizer of several international meetings. [FASSE, keystone and ASM) and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board for the Morgidgie, Institute of Research. In 2005 the was named board of Trustes
Distinguished Professor which is the highest academic honor awarded to faculty who have achieved exceptional distinction in scholarishy, beaching and service, in 2011 the was elected VicePresident/President Elect of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Technology (CASE). She will take over as President of CASE in July 2014.

