Team

Institute Faculty

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Convergence Institute

University Professor

Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Professor of Chemical, Materials and Biomedical Engineering

Director, The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Center for Biomedical, Biological, Physical and Engineering Sciences

860-679-6544

laurencin@uchc.edu

Lakshmi S. Nair, M.Phil., Ph.D., FNAI

Associate Director, Connecticut Convergence Institute

Associate Professor, Orthopedic Surgery

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor, Material Science and Engineering

860-679-7190

nair@uchc.edu

James Grady, Dr.P.H.

Assistant Director, Connecticut Convergence Institute, Biostatistics Center

Professor, Community Medicine and Health Care

860-679-2653

jgrady@uchc.edu

Kevin Wai Hong Lo, Ph.D.

Assistant Director, Connecticut Convergence Institute, Education

Assistant Professor, Medicine

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering

860-679-2949

wlo@uchc.edu

Gualberto Ruaño, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Director, Connecticut Convergence Institute, Special Projects

Assistant Professor, Psychiatry

860-679-2270

ruano@uchc.edu

Chia-Ling Kuo, Ph.D.

Biostatistician, Connecticut Convergence Institute

Assistant Professor, Community Medicine and Health Care

860-679-2897

kuo@uchc.edu

Yusuf Khan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Orthopedic Surgery

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor, Material Science and Engineering

860-679-1768

ykhan@uchc.edu

Jorge Luis Escobar Ivirico, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

860-471-6172

escobarivirico@uchc.edu

Howard A. Tennen, Ph.D.

Program Associate Director of Clinical and Translational Research Master of Science Degree and Certificate Program

Professor, Community Medicine and Health Care

860-679-5466

tennen@uchc.edu

Helen Wu, Ph.D.

Epidemiologist, Connecticut Convergence Institute

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

860-679-3423

zwu@uchc.edu

Research Staff

Linda C. Burian, M.S.

Regulatory Specialist

860-679-7562

lburian@uchc.edu

Eva Homan Kan, MPhil

Research Assistant I

860-679-7190

homan@uchc.edu

Rong Wu, M.S., Ph.D.

Research Associate II

860-679-3076

rwu@uchc.edu

Megan Wing, MA

Research Assistant III

860-679-5192

wing@uchc.edu

Administrative Staff

Lana T. Angelo

YIIP Program Coordinator

860-679-7661

langelo@uchc.edu

Brandy Ciraldo

Administrative Program Assistant II

860-679-7039

ciraldo@uchc.edu

Rachel King

Executive Assistant

860-679-4086

raking@uchc.edu

Faith Kaczynski

Administrative Fiscal Assistant

860-679-4967

kaczynski@uchc.edu

Postdoctoral Fellows

Varad Vernakar

860-679-6600

vernekar@uchc.edu

Maumita Bhattacharjee

860-679-2376

bhattacharjee@uchc.edu

Takayoshi Otsuka

860-679-7190

otsuka@uchc.edu

Naveen Nagiah

nagiah@uchc.edu

Graduate Students

Shiv Shah

860-486-4020

shiv.shah@uconn.edu

Amir Seyedsalehi

860-486-2673

amir.seyedsalehi@uconn.edu

Anupama Prabhathachandran

860-679-7190

prabhathachandran@uchc.edu

Aundrya Montgomery

860-679-7661

aumontgomery@uchc.edu

Guleid Awale

860-679-4097

awale@uchc.edu

Paulos Mengsteab

pmengsteab@uchc.edu

Paige Holden

paige.holden@uconn.edu

 

Godwin Dzidotor

860-679-76288

dzidotor@uchc.edu

Mohammed Barajaa

barajaa@uchc.edu

Erick Orozco Morato

860-679-1632

orozcomorato@uchc.edu

Additional Graduate Students

Hanna Anderson

Fayekah Assanah

Leila Daneshmandi

Kevin Grassie

Chaoran Hu

Erick Orozco Morato

Jinjian Mu

Kenneth Ogueri

Yulia Sidi

Biju Wang