Cato T. Laurencin Travel Fellowship Awarded to Timothy Mason and Mary Omotoso

L-R (David Kohn, PhD – SFB Immediate Past President – Timothy mason – Cato T Laurencin, MD, PhD)

Timothy Mason, a UConn undergraduate student, recently received the Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. Travel Fellowship Award from the Society for Biomaterials (SFB). The award supports under-represented minorities in the field of biomaterials by providing an undergraduate student resources to attend the annual meeting of the Society For Biomaterials, and to become a member of the Society. The goal of this initiative is to stimulate/encourage recipients to pursue a career in biomaterials.

Mary Omotoso was also selected as a recipient of this award.

Dr. Cato Laurencin, CICATS CEO and for whom the fellowship has been named, is well known for his commitment to mentoring. He is the recipient of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Mentor Award, the Beckman Award for Mentoring, the Alvin F. Crawford Award for Mentoring, and received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Engineering and Math Mentoring from President Barack Obama in ceremonies at the White House. To read more about this Fellowship visit the Society for Biomaterials website.